Literary doodle pad

Mysterious equaliser beckons all,

Not e’en one tall achiever can run so

Fast that he, free, would not to exhaustion fall,

He’d shrivel by exchanging rest for ego.


Not a commodity on which one could gain

Monopoly, something to be received,

Persuing it makes for a frustrating game,

Striving for the elusive win; misconceived.

The translucent escape and dream’s adventure

Can only trickle in when loosely grasped,

Fickle flirt with unconsciousness is torture,

The parched, desperate beggar’s plea to God gasped.

When the merciful flood pours into being,

The sleeper is defenseless but secure,

The tide is from day’s tension their heart freeing,

He gives sleep to both humble and restore.

Comments on: "Immersion; repose’s respite" (21)

  1. Jessica S said:

    Well, this seems to kind of go against the grains of your poem, but have you ought to submit this to a publication or a contest. This was really good, Catie.

  2. Jessica S said:

    Whoops. Wrong Gravatar. 🙂

  3. Jessica S said:

    My screen is being weird. Did you get my last comment about submitting this to a publication or contest?

    • yeah I got it, thanks… I don’t really know how to go about that… I just discovered something called poets rally this week, so perhaps I’ll enter it there. :] thanks for the encouragement. :] xx

  4. poetryuntold said:

    This one is very calming. It seems like it came from place of peace inside you. I will keep coming back to this one.

  5. Simply impressive ..
    Here’s mine poetry work ..
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/satisfy-the-hunger-of-success/

    HAPPY RALLY !! xD

  6. Loved the words used in this poem.. Beautiful.

  7. That was truly amazing. I loved your choice of words–allowing me to really feel this poem.

  8. Hello again Catie, I love this poem. Your picture is a beautiful beckoning with it, mind and body waiting for the tide to come in. Very deep and beautiful! Have a great day!! Cindy

  9. Hello again Catie, I love this poem. Great photo!! Your picture has a beautiful beckoning with it, mind and body waiting for the tide of spirit to come in. Very deep and beautiful! Have a great day!! Cindy

    Ignore the first comment!

  10. Oh woww.. this one really came from the depths of your heart…didn’t it, Catie? Cuz only then, will one be able to write such a thought so beautifully!

    This was a lot of food for thought, my dear… very well written! Your wordplay was simply amazing!!

    • It is strange, sometimes I don’t really know the direction a poem will take till I’ve written it, this was one of those, so yeah, I think it must have come from deep, I’ve struggled a bit with insomnia, but in a way it makes you appreciate sleep even more then when you have a good night’s rest. And I do sometimes think the reason I can’t sleep is because I am naively, arrogantly thinking that in some way the world will fall apart if I don’t sort it all out… obviously, not really… but what is anxiety from, if not a result of an out of proportion perspective on the importance of one’s own impact on the world? :] Thank you for your lovely comments. :] xx

  11. free flow is cool,
    potential talent can be shown,

    Thanks for linking,
    Happy Rally.

  12. I don’t think I’ve read your work before. You are very talented. I was impressed greatly. Such a voice, real, honest and a passion for words. You used them with great care and love; each put in a proper place, none wasted. So true. Thank you.

    http://henryclemmonspoet.blogspot.com/2011/06/just-man-recording-is-above.html

  13. What can I say that others haven’t here? Easy, pleasant to read. Talented! The emotions of your words freely mingle with the feelings of the reader! Pleasure to be here!

  14. “He’d shrivel by exchanging rest for ego.” This line has so much power in it. When we seek to feed vanity we are always depleted, self-worth can’t be created through externals love it!

  15. Fantastic! Loved the message, and you delivered it quite elegantly. Very nice!

  16. Impressive write. I really like this thought “The translucent escape and dream’s adventure can only trickle in when loosely grasped..” 🙂

  17. Lovely words
    Well penned

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

