Literary doodle pad

The Stance

Hot tears splash down my cold face

Which I lose the battle to compose,

Resolve buckles; I fleetingly embrace

The pain that follows the love that I chose

I took the risk of loving you,

The things I said I meant and I believe,

My touch, the laughter and my tears were true

And so this might confirm that I’m naive

Is it folly when fear sees a chance,

To stare it down, and instead choose to trust,

And on foundations of love take a stance,

Knowing vulnerability is a must?

Sacrifice sets true love apart,

You’d heard it said and in your head you knew,

But when it came to choices of the heart

You struggled to let selflessness come through

I’m sorry for not being tough enough,

Having fun with you was just too sweet

For me to want to call your bluff,

Though you’d no intention of deceit

I’ve prayed for you in many words and tears

With great hope cause I can see you’re lovely,

Let Holy Spirit take away your fears

So you can learn to be loved, and love fully

I hope you know I truly don’t regret

Investing in you, even with the pain,

Heavenly Father’s keeping the best yet,

And a precious friendship will remain.

Comments on: "The Stance" (19)

  1. “Is it folly when fear sees a chance,
    To stare it down, and instead choose to trust”
    Beautifully worded. Loved it! =)

  2. wonderful poem full of affirmations.

  3. powerful emotions, well put.

  4. Strong, yet delightfully written. Thanks for visiting me. I have never been here and am very happy to ready your work. I like the first one, too. Hugs, pat

  5. A.B. Thomas said:

    Very cool, strength with a sauce of hesitation stirred underneath

  6. Another great write from you Catie. I’m fast becoming a big fan. This is my favorite line from this poem: “Sacrifice sets true love apart,” You are very wise when love is the subject, m’lady.

  7. “Heavenly Father’s keeping the best yet” — so many possibilities in here. Heartfelt write and love — courage always goes with it 🙂

  8. Catie I have read this. I’ve read the comments. I’m always here, while I have breath, and I love you and my hugs are always for you to return to. I hope the best yet times will bless you surprisingly. Hardy hasn’t a patch on some of your truthful, tender, infinitely resourced understanding and expression of love.

  9. beautiful thoughts…

    your words inspire.

    share if you could, bless your day.

  10. amazing implications, attitude is the key.

  11. I commented on this one before, but I don’t think you’ve seen the second in this series, and it kind of goes with yours in a way. I hope you enjoy it.
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/two-yearning-heart/

  12. Dear Eliza

    I enjoyed reading your words here and your line…
    ‘Sacrifice sets true love apart,’
    touched the deepest part of my heart…

    I feel that is so true.. and that is the reason loving is not about reciprocation but of just ‘loving’ …

    Thanks for sharing. Look forward to your entry in the coming poetry picnic week 8 theme “Friends, relationship… ”

    Shashi

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/10/whispers-love-and-loss-butterfly.html

  13. How is your day?

    Time flies, appreciated your handsome inputs to our poetry picnic.

    Share a poem today.
    Bless you.
    Happy December,
    Enjoy A Wonderful Wednesday Ahead.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

