Literary doodle pad

Pursuit of Happiness?

A little while ago I watched the film called The Pursuit of Happiness.

It made me cry.

But the moments where I cried were not when they were at their most poverty stricken… not the point where Will Smith, the lead actor cries… it was where the family relationships broke down, separation of mother and son, of wife and husband. Or when the father shows desperation induced cracks in compassion for his son.

The thing is… those things being in tact are where we find happiness aren’t they really? And yet sometimes it takes losing something to realise how good it was. 

I think the film had the wrong name; it should have been called In Pursuit of Wealthiness. 

So what? I have a confession to make: I am Happy.

Why am I writing about it? Because I think we are looking for it in the wrong places. And sometimes we are IN happiness and we don’t realise it till the light changes. It’s like a stain glass window… different shades and hues, all making up the picture; life. Happiness is one of the colours, Other colours are not even necessarily bad, just different. 

The most important thing though, is that there is light shining into that window… to bring life into the picture, and if it was all one colour, it wouldn’t be nearly so beautiful.

 

So I love the times when I get to be i the happy colour, they’re lovely, but the other colours make it so much richer. It’s like with every year you get to step one step back, take in a bit more of the picture.

 

And what’s the light? I believe, the light is Jesus.

 

:] xx

Comments on: "Pursuit of Happiness?" (4)

  1. I agree, and I also believe happiness is a choice we make.

  2. i agree.. we often don’t see the things we can be thankful for… think if we walk through life with open eyes, we are surprised about how colorful and rich it is

  3. Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog…I am happy and thankful for what I have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

