Literary doodle pad

Playing with Fire

Today’s lesson; Fire is Hot.

Just over a week ago, I was in Church and God showed me a picture of some wax. I had no idea why, of what it was about.

Today I was trying to melt some wax with my ‘improved’ lighter, and the lighter melted and I slightly burnt my finger. I know that when my Mam reads this she will be horrified. (Please forgive me, I really wasn’t being that dangerous and no real ill consequences came).

Why is fire so tempting? I want to suggest, (though I don’t claim to be the first) that fire is like love, that fire is like God. A bit. See, fire is amazing, makes you warm, makes you excited, makes you want to get closer, to play, to be awed. But… Fire is also dangerous. Especially if you underestimate it. 

I might start to use fire in a bad way… to feel powerful maybe? Or I might leave fire unattended, scorn it’s potential to do something. Or I might forget to put more fuel on the fire, and be shocked when it goes cold.

Reading between the lines;

The Fire the that sparkles and warms

Burns those who scorn,

The Love that melts the heart must

not become lust,

The God whose compassion shines

also refines.

Image

So don’t underestimate Fire, Don’t underestimate Love and Don’t underestimate God. Micah 1:4

Comments on: "Playing with Fire" (1)

  1. ” I was trying to melt some wax with my ‘improved’ lighter, and the lighter melted and I slightly burnt my finger. I know that when my Mam reads this she will be horrified.”
    Am I horrified as all that? Maybe a bit but can’t help smirking at the following backpedal!! (Please forgive me, I really wasn’t being that dangerous and no real ill consequences came).
    Well you were playing with wax and a new ‘improved’ self destructing lighter in someone’s house.
    Now what was that comparison? Fire is a bit like God. Fear him and you have (the begining of) wisdom. More anon…
    (Got me thinking about what The Kingdom is like)
    xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

